top of page
Search

Winter's End

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Last week I visited the collection presentation at the Noordbrabants Museum they had 3 beautiful video works on display by the Dutch artist Eelco Brand. I had seen them before and one in particular fascinated me deeply because this work seems so closely connected to my all time favorite "Van Gogh's Almond Blossoms". I decided to record some parts of the video loop with my phone camera for later use.



We are battled by storms at the moment, a weak sun is shining and nature is still sleeping... yet you can feel the spring coming, unseen powers build up under the soil, and within the tree bark, so all I need to do now is shake-off the cold and rain. At that point I found a weird synthesizer demo on twitter that had exactly the kind of trigger needed to make a video. I took the Eelco Brand footage, played around with layers and framing and positioned myself in the snow of the Village of Ahiru sim in Second Life. What exactly happened thereafter you can see and hear when you play my February video.

31 views
bottom of page