top of page
Search

A new toy coming up?

Updated: Mar 3, 2020

It started out as a painting last year, later I decided it should be more like an old fashioned stand alone display, pasting the carton board sketches onto triplex... I mirrored the sketch, played with ideas, but still undecided I left the work for a while. There was this picture of the White and Black Pope standing next to each other, that got me going. It is amazing how few people know about the Black Pope being the Superior General of the Society of Jesus, the official title of the leader of the Roman Catholic religious order which is also known as the Jesuits. It was a surprise to me too when I found out about his existence. Another not so well known fact is that about every political figure of any importance visited Jesuit institutions during their education and training. This is probably how a seemingly hidden institution can hold such obvious powers and political influence even today.


I

Day/night, black/white, zero/one... duality keeps the world divided. Today I thought of making a flip frame where you can swap these popes with a handle, black and white, hidden and public. I will cut them out and mount them on a mechanism. It could even be the decor for my March video, who knows what I end up making of all this, it's an adventure into the unknown.



50 views
bottom of page